Farrah Fawcett Foundation to Honor Stand Up to Cancer Board Members (Exclusive)

Katie Couric and Sherry Lansing are among the nonprofit’s council of founders and advisers who will be honored at the foundation’s upcoming Tex-Mex Fiesta benefit.

Stand Up to Cancer’s Katie Couric, Sherry Lansing, Kathleen Lobb, Lisa Paulsen, Rusty Robertson, Sue Schwartz, Pamela Oas Williams, Ellen Ziffren and Sung Poblete will be honored with The Angel Award at the annual Farrah Fawcett Foundation benefit, co-chaired by actress Jaclyn Smith and Dr. Lawrence Piro.

The annual Tex-Mex event — inspired by Fawcett’s home in Texas — will feature food by El Cholo as well as a live auction, special musical performance and raffle led by George Hamilton and Fred Willard.

The two nonprofits teamed up in 2013 to create the SU2C-FFF Translational Research Team to help find therapeutic vaccines for patients who have no other treatment options. Headed by Dr. Ellis Reinherz and Dr. Robert Haddad at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston, the team conducts clinical trials with the support of both organizations.

The Farrah Fawcett Foundation was established by the actress in 2007 after her own cancer diagnosis. The foundation aims to help with patient care and financial assistance and supports prevention and awareness programs. “Our partnership with SU2C has expedited treatment options for all HPV-related cancers. Farrah wanted to make a difference, and this night will help further that goal,” said Alana Stewart, CEO of Farrah Fawcett Foundation.

The 2017 Tex-Mex Fiesta will be held at the Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts in Beverly Hills on Saturday, Sept. 9. Tickets start at $1,000 and proceeds will benefit Stand Up to Cancer.